RSS

Oh blog of mine

12 Jan

Oh Blog of mine,

I can’t help but wonder when every new author does the same things that every other new writer is doing– how can that be a good thing? Maybe I’m naive, oh blog of mine, but if everyone blogs, interviews, podcasts, has their own website, etc- how can someone hope to stand out from the pack? There’s a lot of writers, trying to get hopeful attention. And while that’s a good thing, “attention”, is it good to be a lemming and go along with it because everyone else is doing it and it’s what is suggested that you do? There is only a limited amount of time people are willing to spare and give-and they won’t read every new thing that’s out there.

So…how do you stand out in the pack when you’re not sure those paths are for you? Is it displaying daily wit to bring back readers? What if I’m not witty or even funny every day (believe me, I’m not. Sometimes I’m a downright grump-master)?

Hey, believe me, I’m not knocking the traditional ways in which indie or budding authors are making their way-the pro’s often weigh in and tell us budding authors the truth. And those approaches have worked for many new guys and ladies, but is it a trend to keep up now that every day I meet new authors, hoping to capture a fan’s attention just like I am?

Is it right for me? Who is there out there to ask-if I can’t answer those questions for myself yet?

What I know for sure is that I love to write about thrilling adventure/horror driven stories that will entertain people and I’m bad at marketing myself.

Most people are- even if we’re writers. I’m working to push past that, but it’s not easy- having been taught that promoting self work often bores others and they just don’t want to hear it because they think you’re bragging.

I ponder, oh blog of mine, I do.

-DAC

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Oh blog of mine

  1. Ghost Writer

    January 15, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    I know what you mean

     
  2. New Jersey Nick (@newjerseynick)

    January 22, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    “but if everyone blogs, interviews, podcasts, has their own website, etc- how can someone hope to stand out from the pack?”

    Self promotion. I can tell you as one who blogs, interviews, podcasts, and has his own site, you gotta bust your ass letting people know you exist. Linking from twitter and facebook are a must. Let everyone know what you do. Get a business card for yourself and leave it everywhere. You’re the only one who can determine your success or failure at these things.

     
    • dachaney

      January 23, 2012 at 8:09 am

      Sounds like good advice to follow, Nick.
      Thanks for posting on such a puzzling post. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
