RSS

An eye affair

20 Aug

I don’t think anyone can argue that one of the cool things about shopping is all the amazing lists that you make inside your head about what you’d buy if you only had the money to buy “it” (unless of course you can buy them. Then…you win).

This is one of those things for me.

Gigantic picture poster art:

20120820-215750.jpg

I read up on the art work a little when I returned home. It’s called “Jungle Journey” – a real photo taken by photographer Skip Nall and blown up.


The poster picture art is simply massive and definitely worth the 150.00 price tag, but just sadly out of my price range to obtain it. After I saw it I knew I’d day dream about where it would go on naked white walls.



Soo many choices…


Now, you have to bear with me because it’s not just the picture (yet it is at the same time) itself. I was clearly and almost physically transported to DEAD ISLAND the zombie apocalypse game that I own when I saw this image.


I know. “Say what?


There is a foot bridge in the game exactly like this one.

It wasn’t simply because I’m primarily a zombie author that I liked it, mind you. Or that it reminded me of the game. Or that in such an amazing size it looked like I could walk on the thing.
It was actually ALL of those things and a big bag of salty chips. It is so cool to me. I’d love to own it.


So that’s my “have to buy when I become richer” items.
Do you have an item that’s not completely out of your range- yet you can’t quite pony up the money because you can’t justify spending it on the unnecessary butvery awesome item?

If you have one I’d love to hear about it.

-DAC

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2012 in Made me Laugh

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “An eye affair

  1. Skip Nall

    January 4, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    Hi Dac, I just came across you post and wanted to say thanks for you kind words about my photograph. I am thrilled you have it here. The story of the bridge is that it was photographed in the mountains of northern Vietnam near the Chinese border just outside of Sapa, Vietnam. The Hmong Indian tribe there believe it will bring good luck to those that cross it. My wife did and shortly thereafter we had our daughter, Jade.

    Best to you,

    Skip Nall

     
  2. Donald Grifoni

    March 2, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    Hi Skip Nail,

    I just purchased your print from IKEA and as a aspiring photographer I was wondering what body/lens you used for this photo if you remember. It is stunning. Thank you sir.

     
    • Skip Nall

      March 8, 2013 at 9:46 pm

      Thanks Donald for the very kind words.

      The body was a Canon 1DS. I believe the lens was a 16-35 f2.8.

      Skip Nall

       
  3. mmmonasax

    November 14, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    oh my good, i just came across this when in doubt to spend or not spend half of my month salary on this beauty(yes I live in Bosnia so my salary is really small but I dont complain here people dont have any job so I am lucky to earn even that much). And then I read the meaning o this piece and now I am sure I am buying it cause who doesnt need some luck in their lives 🙂 tnx skip nall :))

     

Leave a Reply

 
