RSS

Superhero Interests

19 Apr

Like a lot of people, my interest in super heroes isn’t new. We all probably have had some love for them growing up in one form or another. My youngest memories were of She-Ra and her ilk when I was a kid. Of He-Man, GI Joe, and the like, because I had a little brother into those things as well.

Image

 

I never grew up on comics or comic books themselves – but I’ve often enjoyed the movies and tales along the years. I think I can safely say that within the last ten years we’ve seen a pretty good uptick of quality super hero films that we have not had to roll our eyes at, and have learned to respect and cheer on when they hit the theaters (Spiderman, Thor, Iron Man, Hulk, Batman, Captain America, etc). To each his own, right? Some films get it “right” among the fans, and some…may fall a bit short, but whatever the individual opinion is, super hero movies are booming and Marvel seems to really have their stuff together in that regard, with others’ picking up the slack with possibly varying success, but picking up steam none-the-less.

So far, as of recently, I’m up to date watching the super hero action films that have hit the big screen (Cap 2 most recently) and once again I have that spike of excitement knowing that my most anticipated film of the year, Guardians of the Galaxy, is not too long in the future now (crossing my fingers that the trailers give me all the promise they showcase).

Image

I caught up with Marvel, Agents of SHIELD last night – having heard from many sources that the show (I lost interest in it several long episodes back) was getting good again. So I cherry picked what I had DVR’d and sat and watched the last 4 episodes of the show, where Lady Sith (Uprising episodes) appears in the show –> forward, and I’m glad I did. I liked being dipped in the world again and actually enjoying THE SHOW (Arrow does a MUCH better job of juggling its cast and characters so far IMO than SHIELD does, but maybe the tide is changing – with the addition of Bill Paxton on it. Though I clearly heard some lovable reminder phrases harking back to Aliens in his lines. yay! )

Image

 

In the spirit of superheros today I’ve spent all afternoon on Netflix watching animated films I haven’t seen before. Planet Hulk and Avengers: Earth’s Mightiest Heroes so that I get some better understanding of characters I don’t know yet. Ant Man is getting his own movie, I know nothing about him. Black Panther, I know nothing about and would like to. So here we go. Marathoning Marvel animated films.

All of this interest makes me want to write my own cast of superheros for a book. We shall see…….

Image

Thanks to a great podcast that I listen to, for discussing in depth the comic book world and helping me to further my interest in all things superhero. They have a great gig and it’s easy to hear how passionate they are to the superhero phenomenon that is sweeping the cinematic universe (and the world).

Pop Culture Leftover’s

http://www.popcultureleftovers.com/

(you can find the podcast on iTunes or Stitcher on your smartphone)

Image

Related Youtube videos:

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Superhero Interests

  1. dachaney

    April 19, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    I’m also catching up on things I don’t know from the Marvel universe by checking out these videos by Rob:

     

Leave a Reply

 
