RSS

NaNoWriMo progress report …#NaNoWriMo #NaNoWriMo2014 #SWNano

16 Nov

_20141115_180807

NaNoWriMo has been a smashing success for me so far.

I’ve managed to keep ahead of the daily word count for a gracious cushion (“Gracious Cushion” – maybe I should coin the phrase. It sounds like a quite comfortable butt pillow, doesn’t it?) and have met some really great local writers in my community as a result of weekend “Write-In” session groups. I think it’s safe to say that the first meet up is usually just the “meet and greet” and the subsequent ones are the sessions where you get a lot more word count completed, or at least, this has been the case for my group. Each week I’ve managed to leave the group with more accomplished. We encourage each other and help each other power through the days when inspiration just doesn’t seem to be cutting the mustard (cue the writing prompts!)

Even prior to meeting them – I can’t stress enough how much it’s important to have the encouragement and support of like minded author friends you’ve made along the way that keep you going. Rebecca Snow, TW & Denise Brown, Suzanne Robb, Adam & Zoe Millard, Gregory Carter, Michael J. Evans, & T.A. Donnelly were some of the people that really helped me keep going when I was working on Cryptic (back when).

(Makes sense that my lighter writing days have fallen on days of the week that I have been in classes.)

If it hadn’t been for my friend Laurie who sent me an innocent “hey, NaNoWriMo is starting next week, are you interested in meeting up for it?” I might not have participated again this year. Not for lack of wanting to finish a book again, simply that I thought I didn’t have the time to do it. It turns out I’ve been making time to do it and these guys and gals have been keeping me on the straight and narrow.

Now where is my NaDeWL? (National December Weight Loss group session) I could really use a community and cheerleaders to get myself back on the exercise track. I have a wedding (not my own) to attend in June next year!

This week our group managed 4 timed Word Sprints (that netted me with 3,115 words!) and we used pretty cool software to keep our breaks limited and our Sprints plentiful. I won software from the great folks over at StoryWonk with whom gifted me a program called Vitamin-R. I know, it sounds like some kind of new nutrition supplement, but no-  this is a timed and focus specific tracker to get your projects done. It blocks out programs that you want to hide while writing (or on your specific project) while the timer counts down. Likkkkeee Facebook, the Internet, and all those things that you tell yourself that you won’t look at while trying to be focused but you fall down the rabbit hole losing chunks of time to it when you mean well (we ALL do it). So, yeah, it’s pretty cool software and it gave us a new fun tool to use to keep us engaged this week. Pretty sweet. I’m happy with my progress so far. Here’s hoping nothing threatens the streak.

And so goes this week – TWO WEEKS left to go! Let’s get through it!  *rawr*

NaNoWriMo Day 15 Write-In session.

NaNoWriMo Day 15 Write-In session

_20141115_171820

 

_20141115_171754

 

It's great when interests collide: Anime for one thing!

It’s great when interests collide: Anime for one thing!

 

_20141115_180737 

-DAC

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 16, 2014 in General, News

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
