RSS
Link
19 Nov

If you haven’t heard or seen Lindsey Stirling, you’re really missing out.

She is a performance artist using her body through dance and violin as her instrument to create visual and musical spectacles. In 2010 she was on America’s Got Talent (but didn’t win) and became really popular on YouTube posting videos of her own original music with stellar musical videos but also offering violin performances to cover artist songs like “Radioactive”, “Starships”, “Game of Thrones”, “Legend of Zelda”, and more.

Below I’ve linked some really great videos to check out to see what I mean about her talent and the skill of those around her (if you’re not aware). I can already tell you that I’ve fallen down the rabbit hole of YouTube and Stirling videos so….there will be a lot of video links. But they’re all soooo good! That “Shatter Me” song with Lzzy Hale (of the band “Halestorm”) is REALLY rocking! I’d love to hear that on the radio.

Lindsey is amazing and honestly she’s the only violinist that I can actually say that I know the name of and I’m an actual fan of (no offense other violinists, I’m sure you’re awesome, I just don’t know who you are). I like her stuff and I like her style.

Her albums are pretty much anywhere you can buy music from – check her out and then go buy a couple tracks. This kind of talent needs the backing 🙂 Believe me, I’ve done it.

Then, feel free to let me know what you ended picking up (song or album) and if you have a favorite tune that maybe I didn’t hear yet!

 

Enjoy!

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aE2GCa-_nyU

 

-DAC

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 19, 2014 in audio, Listening to Music

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “If you haven’t….you gotta… #music fuels the soul

  1. patricksponaugle

    November 20, 2014 at 5:57 am

    My daughter and her best friend ran across Stirling and Hollens’ performance of the Skyrim main theme song, and because they knew I played that game, excitedly showed it to me. Wow. It was awesome and she’s great.

    Thanks for featuring her videos and talking about her, I think she’s the best.

     
    • dachaney

      November 21, 2014 at 7:54 pm

      Patrick- thanks for your comments. I love reading reactions to my posts. Ohhh, that Skyrim one was so great (awesome game too)! I love the Zelda performance one too. Who am I kidding, I love so many of them!

      She is really amazing, I agree totally. You’re so welcome 🙂 I’m glad that you like them as much as I do! 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
