RSS
Video

Seth MacFarlane has a Holiday album out? Wait, he does? YES! He does! Check it out #music

04 Dec

And it is absolutely BRILLIANT.

maxresdefault

 I caught the tail end of Seth MacFarlane singing on the Kelly & Michael morning show this week and I was caught completely off guard. Seth MacFarlane…was singing, no. That’s not the ‘word’ for it. He was crooning into the microphone. Like in a -beautiful Dean Martin ‘singing holiday carols’ kind of way. And he was GOOD! Better than good. He was excellent!

And I get it – really. I don’t watch ‘The Family Guy’ but I know the man’s name and from what I understand, he’s done musical numbers on the show. I honestly had no idea. Not that anyone can’t have a handful of quality talents, I don’t mean that, I just didn’t EXPECT to be blown away by this man, in this way. But friends, let me tell you. I bought the album just based on the last maybe 30 seconds of the song he was singing. He’s SO good that I really wanted to go out and buy every person that I knew a copy of the cd and thrust it into their hands and say “HERE! Christmas has been revived for me again! Listen to this and FEEL it again”. A tall order, I understand. Not everyone even likes these older holiday classics, but I think there’s just a certain appreciation that must take place when hearing something so…uplifting. I can imagine myself watching the snow fall on Christmas (the holiday that I celebrate) and hearing this music in the background. A glass of wine in my hand. The music has reinvigorated me in a way I hadn’t expected and that’s why it was SO surprising to me.

I can’t say that I’ve lost the “spirit” it’s just that I don’t usually find my holiday happiness until the week of my Christmas holiday anymore. With stores pushing out decorations and Mall Santa’s and all of that even before Thanksgiving takes place (this year it felt like as soon as Halloween was over, Christmas decorations were already going up in the stores. Am I wrong?) it just doesn’t feel the same as it used to. I almost feel like by the time the 25th gets here, I’m already tired and worn out from everything that I love about the holiday.

But this week I got a little bit of that…magic back.

Now, I know – the “sound” might be a little too old school for you, but I ask that you just give it a try and see what you think. If you like what you hear, go support the guy and maybe he’ll make more of these! I heard songs I’ve never heard before (FINALLY. I hear the SAME holiday songs over and over again usually) and not only that. I felt like a good half of the songs were not just aimed at Christmas. They were Winter Seasonal holiday songs that anyone can enjoy and not just people who celebrate Christmas-y music. Check it out and let me know what you think. It’s called “Holiday for Swing!”

 

 

maxresdefault (1)

Some other stuff that he’s recorded – covers for some older hits:

 

I am not one to completely wave a Classic’s flag. I don’t know all of the ‘Greats’ or all of the songs that they sing, but there’s a movie that I love and a cover song artist that I loved FROM the movie that I always think of when I start thinking of this style of music. It’s called “Return to Me” and it has David Duchovny and Minnie Driver in it. If you’re curious what I’m talking about, give it a listen below.

What if I Loved You” Joey Gian – from “Return to Me

 

christmas_fireplace_1_2105x1400

Now…just picture that fireplace lighting, the wine, the mood, and the music playing softly in the background. Isn’t it a beautiful thing? I think so.

 

-DAC

 

p.s. I realized too late that I misspelled the Seth MacFarlane’s last name, but I think I corrected them all. Whoopsie.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 4, 2014 in Listening to Music, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Seth MacFarlane has a Holiday album out? Wait, he does? YES! He does! Check it out #music

  1. graciesonnet

    December 20, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    Family Guy and American Dad do a lot of musical numbers but wow! He did a great job recreating the classic Christmas songs.

     

Leave a Reply

 
